BreastScreen Aotearoa Action and Advisory Group (BSAAAG)

The BreastScreen Aotearoa Action and Advisory Group was formed in 2023 updating the previous advisory group which ran from 2003. Its role is to support the National Screening Unit (NSU) to achieve its vision for mana-enhancing, equitable, high-quality and accessible national screening programmes.

Role of the Group

The role of the Group is to:

  • provide unidisciplinary context to independent BSA monitoring reports
  • discuss and provide independent advice on the policy and strategic direction of BSA in New Zealand.  It is expected members will consult widely within their own constituent groups
  • discuss research and development opportunities for BSA
  • provide advice from time to time on other areas as agreed by the group and BSA
  • provide advice on multidisciplinary operational issues.

To find out more about the BSA Advisory Group read the group's terms of reference.



The Group comprises members who collectively have wide knowledge and experience in BreastScreen Aotearoa.


Current members of the BreastScreen Aotearoa Advisory Group




Amy Hina, Chair



Jane O'Hallahan, Co-Chair  

Te Whatu Ora

Clinical Director, NSU

Sally Urry

BreastScreen Counties Manukau

Clinical Director

Christina Kirkwood

BreastScreen Coast to Coast

MIT / Lead Provider Manager

Lusiana Tabuavula

BreastScreen Counties Manukau

MIT/Pacific representative

Charlotte Timoko

Te Whatu Ora Counties Manukau

A representative with experience/ involvement in BSA service delivery/Pacific

Fay Sowerby

Breast Cancer Aotearoa Coalition


Tasha Wharerau

Women’s Health Action Trust


Louisa Kingi

BreastScreen Waitemata Northland

A representative with experience/ involvement in BSA service delivery

Klazz Mckinnon

Hauraki PHO

A representative with experience/ involvement in Support to Screening Services

Miriam Te Hira Scanlan

Māori Women’s Welfare League

Tangata Māori

Dr Rachel Greenwood

Primary Healthcare - Royal NZ College

Primary Health Care

Dr Maxine Ronald

Hei Āhuru Mōwai

Tangata Māori

Stephanie Chapman

Te Whatu Ora

Group Manager, NSU 

Kathy Phillips

Te Whatu Ora

Manager, BreastScreen Aotearoa

Jo Wall

Te Whatu Ora

Public Health Medicine Specialist (Equity)

Yvonne Hewson

Te Aka Whai Ora

Te Aka Whai Ora


Page last updated: 13 October 2023